turned out

turning the world to Christ

3 lessons that I learned on my blog-fast (1 of 3)

Posted by dturn on October 2, 2008

1. God speaks in the silence

Spending 2 weeks away from the blogosphere did wonders for my hearing.
At first I thought that I wouldn’t be able to make it more than 2 hours without logging on to see what my fellow bloggers and online friends were up to.
I have come to enjoy my online conversations and look forward to being informed and enlightened by what I read.

First off, let me tell you guys that I spend most of my days in front of a computer for my job.
Secondly, I spend most of this time also by myself.
Therefore, you can only imagine what a challenge this was.

After the first day I realized how much I hate silence.
I love to talk (ask my wife) and to be talked to.
Dead silence is, well, dead.

I didn’t take long for me to realize that God wanted me to enter into a silent period so that He can speak to me.
What I thought would be almost impossible for me to do became something I looked forward to.
God would speak to me in the midst of something I hated (that will preach by itself).
God wanted to show Himself to be strong while I was suffering.
His voice became my hope.
His words my salvation.

Take sometime to turn off the T.V., computer, cell phone, and even other people, to hear from God.

He wants to talk.
Will you listen?

One Response to “3 lessons that I learned on my blog-fast (1 of 3)”

  1. Cyndi said

    Welcome back. I remeber the first time I fasted from tv. I was amazed at what I accomplished that day. Then I added the internet and was amazed at how much more time I had to study and meditate on God’s words. We usually take our computer with us on vacatation. I think the next time I will insist we turn off all of the noise and just vacation.

Leave a comment